Pointless Nonsense

Posted in comics by Bill on September 15, 2011

With this whole DC thing, lots more new comics:

Animal Man is a character I knew nothing about, but he had a run by Grant Morrison that was popular with the highbrow superhero fans. This one didn’t do anything for me. Not bad at all, but the art is very indie-looking and I wasn’t that impressed with the super hero trying to have a normal family life angle.
Batman and Robin picks up pretty much exactly where the series left off. The only change is that it’s Bruce Wayne and Damian instead of Dick Grayson and Damian. Which I think is a change for the worse. Damian is overly serious, so teaming him with Dick is a good balance for the book. Putting him with also overly serious Bruce is a potentially awful book. But for the first issue, it didn’t matter, it’s perfectly ok and I’ll keep reading.
I read Suicide Squad apparently just to punish myself, because the cover made me really angry at how badly they fucked up Harley Quinn. It’s the damn video game’s fault. Harley’s original costume was basically perfect: sexy, not stupidly slutty, and theme-appropriate. So instead they give her one that makes her slutty transsexual Joker. And they left Deadshot, with his goofy orange suit and one eye helmet type thing, completely alone. Worse still, they did this to Amanda Waller. The sad thing is that the story in the issue isn’t bad, but I hate the design decisions so much that I can’t help but get pissed off thinking about the comic at all.
Deathstroke… no idea why I read this. For one of these “here’s the ultimate badass assassin killing stuff” comics, it’s not bad. But I don’t really like those.
Grifter is another character I knew nothing about, though I’d seen his silly mask many times before (way too impractical, it’d blow into your eyes and blind you all the time). The weird thing is, I’d never thought for a minute that he was a con man, I just thought of it as a name, like he was Mike Grifter or something. After figuring out that he was a con man, I figured it’d either be big dumb action like the cover suggested with a guy falling out a window firing two guns back at something, or grifting. Sadly, the first issue mentions over and over again how he’s a con man, but cheats by not showing any con-artistry, which is weak because that is a rich source for fun action stuff. And there’s really no dumb action stuff either, hardly any bullets are fired. It was kinda boring. I read the issue because it’s written by the guy who does Who Is Jake Ellis?, but the first issue of Grifter did not make me want to read more at all.

Leave a comment