Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on July 25, 2017

Ozark is Netflix’s new series with Jason Bateman and Laura Linney. It’s kinda in the same vein as Weeds and early Breaking Bad, where seemingly wholesome suburban boring white people get involved in high stakes crime. And in this case end up in a shithole town in Missouri (it’s kinda nice that this show that features a lot of white trash is not set in the South). It’s not a comedy, despite having Jason Bateman.

As a fan of crime stories, I was intrigued enough to make it through the whole season, but I can’t say I recommend it. The white guy anti-hero drama thing is starting to get tired, I’d hoped Laura Linney’s character would pain out into something more interesting, but really didn’t, and it seems to drift into marriage/betrayal territory and away from the crime stuff more than I’d like.

Leave a comment