Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on July 30, 2017

Room 104 is HBO’s new anthology series set in a hotel room with different guests there each episode. It’s created by the Duplass brothers, who I’m not a huge fan of, but I thought this was a clever premise. I was under the impression that it’d be a dramedy series, like some of their other work, but the first episode is pretty much a straight horror story. And not a very good one? The story is kind of a mess from my initial impression, and I wasn’t intrigued enough to put much thought into making sense out of it (mild spoilers: wouldn’t you have to pee at some point?).

But the nature of the anthology is that it’s very hit-or-miss, and I read a couple reviews that were somewhat favorable of the half dozen episodes critics got to preview, but did trash this first episode. So I’ll watch one or two more and see if they get any better.

Leave a Reply

