Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on July 11, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming is the best Spider-Man movie to date. I never liked Tobey Maguire, and while Andrew Garfield was fine, the movies themselves weren’t all that good. Tom Holland is a better match for the character than either. He’s believably unpopular at school, genuinely funny and awkward, and manages to pull off at least one scene that could have been really corny with some other actor.

Knowing RDJ’s Tony Stark would be involved, I’d worried his presence would overshadow the title character, but it really didn’t. This is definitely a Spider-Man movie. It spends almost as much time on high school as it does on superheroics. Most of the notable high school characters that I know from comics and cartoons make an appearance (including someone who’s not Miles Morales’ friend Ganke, but basically is).

Implied spoiler: there’s a plot development in the movie that I might have seen coming if I didn’t assume certain things matched the comics, so foreknowledge in this case helped lead to a nice surprise. And there were some things I missed because I don’t know Spider-Man as well as some other characters (although I also missed a thing about Donald Glover’s character that I definitely should have picked up on, but I’m bad with character names).

Leave a Reply

