Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on May 26, 2017

Overwatch has a free play weekend, so I thought I’d see what all the fuss is about. It’s a shooter, hero-based, and team-based. A lot seems to rely on team balance, so you have to find a few heroes that suit you, so that you can fill in the gaps on your team. This creates a rather steep learning curve, since it takes a bit to learn how to play one character, but you might end up on a team where someone’s already used that character, or the skill sets render them redundant.

I fiddled around with Roadhog and Reaper, shotgun guys, as well as Widowmaker, sniper girl, and D.Va, mech girl. D.Va is the easiest to play, which is good, because I think it’s been about 15 years since I last played a shooter with other people.

It’s fine, but I still don’t get all the hype. I wasted away an evening and it was enjoyable enough, but I’m not gonna pay $40 or whatever for it. But also the thrill of multiplayer shooters was lost on me a long time ago, and I really only want to bother with them now if there’s a story (Bioshock or Borderlands or something along those lines).

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on May 27, 2017 at 2:49 am

    Play Paladins. It’s the Open Beta (hence free) version of Overwatch, or close enough. I don’t mind it at all for an hour or two of mindless fun. I can send you an invite.


Leave a Reply

