Pointless Nonsense

Posted in stand-up by Bill on May 9, 2017

Career Suicide is Chris Gethard’s stand-up/one man show/when it’s a comedian I don’t know what the difference is/thing brought to HBO, kinda similar to Neal Brennan’s 3 Mics, in that it’s stand-up about mental health issues. But while I related to a lot of 3 Mics and it had a lot of laughs, Gethard’s problems are more severe (paranoia, alcoholism, I don’t think he ever used the word “bipolar” but he described manic episodes), and it’s generally more earnest, with jokes fewer and farther between. It’s probably unfair to compare the two so directly, because this was perfectly fine, but I can’t help think I would have enjoyed it more had I not seen the one I prefer first.

Leave a Reply

