Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on February 28, 2017

mi-5I had tried to see Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation on like its third week of release on an almost-expired movie pass, but inexplicably, it was sold out. I also somehow missed it when it made its way through the premium cable channels. But I finally got around to seeing it now.

It’s fine. I may not like Tom Cruise personally, but he’s still a good action star. There’s nothing really about him that’s great, but his comedic timing is ok (playing straight man to Simon Pegg mostly) and he’s game for stunts (so Ethan Hunt can have actual facial reactions on his own face rather than a stuntman’s while hanging off the edge of a building, and he doesn’t have to look CG-ed into the scene).

The one part that amuses me is that Jeremy Renner becomes like an administrator behind a desk. It seemed like in the last one (whose events and subtitle I’ve forgotten, I just remember some stuff happened in Dubai and I think Paula Patton was in it) Renner was being set up to take over the franchise. And then of course in the meantime they tried to give the Bourne franchise to Renner too. And they’ve now bailed on both, bringing back both Matt Damon and Tom Cruise. And something tells me we’re never going to get a Hawkeye-focused movie with him in it either. I think Hollywood has completely fallen out of love with him.

Anyway, as long as Tom Cruise is physically able, they can probably crank out one of these every few years, and, while it won’t be something to desperately see on opening weekend, it’ll be a good way to kill a couple hours.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on February 28, 2017 at 1:57 am

    So what did you end up watching with your almost-expired move pass then? I’m pretty sure you’re too cheap to let that go to waste.

    • Bill said, on February 28, 2017 at 3:02 am

      I actually let it go to waste, and I died a little inside. There wasn’t anything else playing I was remotely interested in, and that was actually the last day the pass was valid. A true tragedy!


Leave a Reply

