Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on January 30, 2017

civ6Civilization VI changes some things in a good way and others not-so-good. Overall, it’s a nice way to kill 100+ hours. I don’t like the religion and espionage very much, the civics tree and district things are odd but ok, and I rather think the military and culture have gotten quality improvements. Forming armies, different approaches to culture (archaeology), the great people system, all quality improvements. Some of the civs provide interesting alternate approaches, like the Kongo and their high population/no religion thing.

There are some random things I wish the UI would allow:

  • Being able to alert on religious units. I quite often fail to notice enemy missionaries/apostles in my territory for a turn or two, it would be much more helpful if my defensive apostles could auto-awake when someone crossed into my territory.
  • Auto-explore that didn’t suck. One that would get tribal villages and also not bounce back and forth at random. And that would take auto-explore off once I’ve seen all the territory.
  • A decent city overview screen.

Also some of the achievements are broken. I wanted to do the one for having a Japanese district surrounded by six other district, which I successfully did, but got no achievement for. Googling shows I’m not the only one to have that problem. Oh well. Next up is the remastered version of Day of the Tentacle, unless I find the voice acting on that to be too annoying (it’s really dated).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on January 31, 2017 at 4:07 am

    I think that’s how video games should be rated: how many hours would it be worth killing with this game? Honestly, isn’t that how most people view video games anyway, a time sink. I would say if you got 100+ hours out of it, it’s probably one of your best video games buy? I think Rocket League might the only one that beats that handily in recent years?

    • Bill said, on January 31, 2017 at 5:14 am

      By that measure, Portal is a pretty lousy game, so the measure’s obviously pretty broken.

      And yeah Rocket League certainly takes the time-wasting prize (1300 hours), but I put 150 hours on Fallout 4 and 120 on Borderlands 2.

  2. joseph jeong said, on January 31, 2017 at 3:43 pm

    Portal never gave you cake, so f that game!


Leave a Reply

