Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on July 13, 2016

nightofThe Night Of is HBO’s new miniseries that seems like it will follow one crime from the night of its commission through investigation and trial and whatnot. The first episode was fairly straightforward, but for some reason I found it incredibly engaging. Normally, when someone finds themselves at a crime scene and panics you think “oh god what are you doing you idiot!” but here I think “oh god I would do stupid shit just like that.” So something they were doing made me identify with the guy, or it was in some way interesting that I can’t place my finger on. Regardless, I enjoyed the pilot quite a bit, and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes.

It’s mostly devoid of famous people through the first episode, except for John Turturro as the accused guy’s lawyer. Jeremiah from Royal Pains has a mustache for his role as a cop, which is kinda hilarious.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on July 16, 2016 at 12:20 pm

    I’m probably going to watch this as my one-show-per-week pick (I don’t really watch much TV anymore) now that GoT is over. The way I’ve heard it described is that it’s a crime procedural but done to perfection. Hence, your observation of finding it straightforward but engaging makes sense.


Leave a Reply

