Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on June 30, 2016

southpark-stickoftruthSouth Park: The Stick of Truth (currently on sale for $7.50) seems to have a shitty combat system that I’m going to hate, but based on the first hour, everything else about it is pretty great. The graphics perfectly replicate the show, it’s filled with references to the series, and some quality jokes some of which are based on gaming expectations.

One of the first things you can do is take a dump, You’re prmompted to mash the S key to poop, and if you don’t hit it enough, you fail to poop. But if you succeed, you can loot the toilet for a shit nugget. I haven’t actually picked it up, because… it’s a shit nugget. But still funny. Also, you’re prompted to type in your name, and I’m thinking this is pointless since every character is voiced, so they won’t be able to call me by name anyway. But after I type my name in, Cartman says “you have entered ‘Douchebag’, is that correct?” and then you have a yes/no prompt, and when you answer no he still goes ahead and calls you Douchebag for the rest of the game.

So… I think if you enjoy the show, you’ll enjoy at least the non-combat parts of the game. I’m thinking about putting on easy just to speed through the fights. But for $7.50, it’s already given me as many laughs as a lot of comedy movies, so I’m happy.

I’m going to end up playing some more Civilization: Beyond Earth, then move on to the recent-ish Shadowrun games, then that might be it for steam sale games I’m hustling to get through in the return window. I also picked up Borderlands 2, Telltale’s Michonne miniseries, and the Bioshock Infinite DLC pack, but I think those are safe bets.

Leave a Reply

