Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on May 8, 2016

pokernight2Poker Night at the Inventory and Poker Night 2 are two more Telltale bundle games. These are just poker games (5 handed winner-take-all NLHE with aggressive blinds, the second one offers optional NL Omaha as well) with licensed characters as talkative opponents. Lots of jokes.

The first has one of Sam and Max, one of the Penny Arcade guys, the heavy weapons TF2 guy, and Strong Bad. None of which I really care about. But I got pissed off because I folded a winning hand to a series of all-ins on the first hand (check, bet, I raise. Check-raise all-in, call all-in, I become convinced by low flush on a paired board must be no good, opponents reveal trips and a garbage pair). It pissed me off later when I lost what should have been a split pot on an all-in (my A3 vs A6, QJT47 board, that busted me out). I ended up having to play 5 games to win once (break-even, money wise) and move on to the second. It wasn’t really until I was on a big stack and bullying the table around that I felt comfortable with anything, because the AI players are so unpredictable.

The characters in the second are much more my style. Brock Samson (voiced by Patrick Warburton), Ash from Evil Dead (not voiced by Bruce Campbell), the other one from Sam and Max, and a robot from Borderlands that kinda sounds like Bill Cipher from Gravity Falls but isn’t. The dealer is GLaDOS from Portal, and there’s someone I think also from Borderlands tending bar. Kinda like a steampunk mime with prominent cleavage. The AI is a little less dumb, or maybe I’m just getting used to the kind of dumb it is. GLaDOS has a lot of great lines in this. “The blinds have been increased to 264 and 4C8 in base 23. I’ll give you a minute to work that out before I deal.” Also when you get knocked out, “It appears you have lost all your chips. Oh well, it’s only money. Your money. Twenty thousand dollars of it. Right down the drain.” The robot from Borderlands was also pretty funny, to the point that I added the first game to my wishlist. I’ll probably give it a try if it’s ever cheap enough.

Anyway, they’re very slow moving poker games. And apparently the second one unlocks items for Borderlands and Team Fortress games (and maybe others, I quit before getting anything else). Amusing dialogue, but the poker is dull, so it’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

