Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on March 2, 2016

shadowhuntersKatherine McNamara was really hot in a small part on The Grinder, so I looked her up and saw that she was starring in Shadowhunters, a fantasy series on Freeform, a channel I’d never heard of. So I figured I’d check it out, on the off chance that a low budget YA fantasy novel adaptation would turn out decent.

It’s like an urban fantasy thing. The girl from the Grinder episode is turning 18, and that’s the age at which she unlocks her magical abilities. Her mother is supposed to tell her everything, but bad guys in pursuit of the magic MacGuffin (the mortal cup) are on the way, so our heroine has to flee, her mother captured, and Handsome McLoveInterest rescues her.

The Old Spice guy is also in it. As are some other hot girls. Also a lot of pretty boys, some of whom I think are gay. The dialogue is pretty weak. There are a lot of cliches being thrown around. But damn the main girl is hot. Which, apparently, is enough for me to keep watching this shit. Not actually recommended, unless you also want to suffer through garbage to watch a cute redhead (the image above doesn’t really do her justice).

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. geebs said, on March 2, 2016 at 9:31 am

    Weird, I didn’t realize you didn’t know ABC Family changed into Freeform at the beginning of the year, I coulda sworn I mentioned it a few times. But yeah, this came out a few weeks ago, in the time slot after Pretty Little Liars. Unfortunately there’s so much stuff I watch on Tuesday I passed on it even though I thought the main girl was pretty hot (But I know her as the bitchy piano chick from the Fosters)

    • Bill said, on March 2, 2016 at 12:35 pm

      Ah, I knew it changed its name, I just didn’t know what it changed to.

      The first 7 episodes are on demand, so you can inflict the show on yourself at your leisure.


Leave a Reply

