Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on July 17, 2015

sexdrugsrockrollSex&Drugs&Rock&Roll is Denis Leary’s new FX show about an almost-famous 80s rock band getting back together to launch the career of their singer’s daughter who he just figured out existed. Leary plays the singer, who’s a drug addicted piece of shit. That guy who was the radio host on Northern Exposure is the guitarist, some guy I don’t recognize is the bass player, Louie’s brother from Louie is the drummer, and some girl (who’s fairly attractive but I think was more hired for her voice than anything because I would expect the part to be someone smoking hot) is the daughter.

It’s… not that good? I’ve liked a lot of Denis Leary’s shows, but he’s typically had a co-creator, and I’m wondering if that’s what’s missing. The premise is ok-ish, the jokes are also ok-ish, but the protagonist seems like maybe too much of a piece of shit. I might give it another episode, because it’s a 30 minute show which doesn’t give a lot of time to establish story or characters, and also because I don’t have a lot to watch on Thursdays this summer, but I’m not optimistic.

Leave a Reply

