Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on June 20, 2015

dishonoredSteam’s new return policy (less than 2 weeks from purchase and less than 2 hours played, refund for any reason) means I kinda have to promptly try out the games I pick up in the summer sale, just in case I instantly hate one. Which is a little awkward, since the summer sale started while I was in the middle of replaying both Fallout 3 and Dragon Age II, so I’m now partway through way too many different games.

  1. Dishonored was $5 and people are excited about the sequel so why not? You play the bodyguard to the Empress of Dunwall who gets framed for her murder, and then you break out of prison to presumably take down the evil guys who set you up. The menus and interface and stuff are pretty slickly designed. I don’t think I’m going to be any good at the stealth component of the game, but I do like the setting and general style (it’s kinda like steampunk but more industrial, coal burning fancy tech, and then also with magic stuff too). My only complaint early on is that you hold a sword and a pistol, but you click the left mouse button to swing your right hand sword, and the right mouse button for the left hand pistol. I get the idea because the sword is your main attack, but it would make more sense to just make your guy left-handed, that way it would correspond to the mouse buttons. Still, I’m intrigued.
  2. Transistor was also $5. It’s a 3/4 view thing in a tech-heavy future setting, where you were I guess a singer, but some programs decided to try to kill you, and you have this talking sword trying to help you stop the programs? I don’t really know what’s going on, it’s kind of weird. When you start the game there’s not even a menu, it just starts. But it’s pretty cool looking, so I’m fine spending $5 on it. Will come back to it later.
  3. Grim Fandango Remastered is an update of one of my favorite games ever. I didn’t really need to do anything except make sure it worked, which it did.

I debated about Wasteland 2 (a spiritual successor to Fallout 1 and 2) and Civ: Beyond Earth, but they never got below $25, and I figure with Fallout 4 on the horizon and me in the middle of two lengthy re-plays, I should be set for games for a while, and those titles’ prices might drop a lot lower before I ever get a chance to play them.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on June 25, 2015 at 2:19 am

    Invisible Inc. That’s my recommendation. Very well done, very slick. I’m not done with it, but I’m quite impressed with it.


Leave a Reply

