Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on February 11, 2015

kotorI picked up the Star Wars Humble Bundle, with 12 games, 11 of which I’d never played before for $12 (Jedi Knight II being, for some reason, the one I did play), starting with Knights of the Old Republic, because I tried to search for an order to play them in, and all I got was an in-universe chronological order, which seemed better than nothing. So the Old Republic goes first.

I didn’t know it was a Bioware game, but after a clunky intro it totally felt like Mass Effect 0. You run around a place that kinda resembles the citadel, talking to security guards, merchants, bar patrons, and random alien species, starting in the nice parts and then working your way to the shadier areas, navigating dialogue trees to pick up side quests and gain paragon/renegade (in this game, light/dark side) points, and having random conversations with your companions. Plus a lot of familiar voice actors from that series. Kaidan, Doctor Chakwas, and lady Shephard (with a British accent), at least (maybe Ashley too, but I let her die so I don’t remember what she sounds like). The only real differences early on are the crappier graphics, crappier combat (it’s a lot like the first Dragon Age), less impressive voice acting, and all the Star Wars stuff.

Anyway, that format totally works for me. I’m not too far in, but I’m already hooked. It’s ugly, graphics-wise, what with it being 12 years old and all, but the story is pretty engaging. And I’ll be getting a lightsaber at some point, so there’s that to look forward to.

What with new TV and stuff, it’s probably going to be months before I finish this, though I expect Knights of the Old Republic II will be next up. Unless I have some downtime at work, I might try the RTS Empire at War, since I can’t (easily) sync KOTOR saves.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pointless Nonsense said, on April 15, 2015 at 10:18 pm

    […] of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords is the follow-up to BioWare’s original, but this one by Obsidian Entertainment, and there is a pretty dramatic dropoff in quality. The […]


Leave a Reply

