Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on December 19, 2014

acodI think this is the last of all the movies I found on various cable channels and their websites that were new to me. And these were all pretty weak:

  • A.C.O.D. stands for Adult Children of Divorce, which I didn’t know until starting it, but it stars Adam Scott and I like him. Also Clark Duke, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Amy Poehler, Jane Lynch, Jessica Alba, Catherine O’Hara, and that old guy who was Ben Stiller’s therapist in There’s Something About Mary. It’s ok-ish, I made it all the way through, but didn’t particularly enjoy it. Filmed in Atlanta, but I didn’t recognize too much. I think they shot something in that cafe or something that’s behind Room & Board on the other side of the pedestrian bridge behind Star Provisions.
  • A Good Day to Die Hard is the fifth one, which I didn’t have any real interest in seeing beyond the one brief shot of a hot girl getting off her motorcycle and unzipping her suit thing. Shit blows up, he says “yippie ki yay motherfucker” at some point, they win in the end. Predictable and boring. Turns out Mary Elizabeth Winstead is in the very beginning and the very end. Basically the highlight of the movie.
  • Total Recall, the remake version, is basically forgettable in every aspect other than the fact that every 5 minutes or so (minor spoilers, but not really if you saw the first one), Kate Beckinsale shows up looking all evil and hot. Physics gripe: The switch in gravity when travelling through the earth’s core would not be abrupt at all, gravity would gradually reduce from 1G to 0 before gradually increasing back up to 1G in the opposite direction. Plus if you were falling down to the core, you’d be weightless for the entire first half of the trip.
  • 22 Jump Street I actually saw a while ago and forgot to write anything here. It’s pretty lame. While the first one was surprisingly good, this one didn’t do much for me. The closing credits were considerably better than the entire rest of the movie.
  • Lone Survivor is that movie about Navy Seals that had the pre-show countdown commercials with Peter Berg for what felt like a year. Marky Mark, Riggins, Emile Hirsch, and Ben Foster are the main guys, with Eric Bana as their boss, and Turtle from Entourage is for some reason their radio guy back at their base. I didn’t make it to the end, but I guess 3 of them die, they start getting shot to shit about 50 minutes in, and I lasted about 30 minutes of people getting shot (like, almost nothing else but people getting shot that entire 30 minutes). I found it really unpleasant. I think they’re trying to make us think “wow, look how much they got shot and still weren’t dead!” but all I could think was “wow, who the hell thought I wanted to watch people get shot for 30 minutes?” This probably appeals to people who get all in to guns and the military and all that, but I am not one of those people.
Leave a Reply

