Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on October 2, 2014

stalkerStalker is CBS’s new show about stalkers and cops that stalk stalkers. I’m sure over the course of the series, the cops stalking stalkers will themselves get stalkers, so stalkers stalking stalker stalkers.

They open the show talking about how stalking is all about social media and stuff. But then the case of the week is just some dude in a black hoodie hiding behind trees and in parking garages. Basically, trying to terrify the audience, because I’m sure a shadowy figure lurking around every corner is exactly what the fear parts of our brains imagine when we’re a little bit spooked. But on a cop show, it’s not actually frightening at all. At least not to me, but I’m not the type to fall for those home security commercials about a guy kicking in a woman’s front door either.

It’s pretty much like every other procedural, stalker theme aside. So it’s really the characters that make or break these shows. Maggie Q’s character is fine, a generic serious cop. Dylan McDermott, who I feel like has been desperate to find a new series since The Practice, always wears a tie but slightly loosened with his top button unbuttoned, because that’s a TV character thing to do. “I’ll technically follow your dress code rules, but I’m a rebel at heart.” I want to punch him in the face. He’s not the guy that we’re supposed to like, I don’t think, but I’m so hostile to the character that I’m not going to watch the show again.

Leave a Reply

