Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on January 5, 2014

spidermenSpider-Man Unlimited is a Spider-Man cartoon I’d never even heard of, which apparently ran from 1999 to 2001. Netflix both recommended it to me and said it expected me to rate it 1.5 stars, which is a little confusing. It’s so bad though. It all takes place on Counter-Earth, where the High Evolutionary has made a bunch of animal/human hybrids. And regular Earth Spider-Man went there to rescue John Jameson. So it’s Spider Man, except no Aunt May, no Norman Osborn, after the first 10 minutes no MJ or JJJ, almost none of his regular villains. And the animation and voice acting are both pretty weak.

And then Spider-Man is another cartoon, from 2003. This one I had heard of. Netflix expected me to give it 2 stars. It seems to take place after the first Tobey Maguire movie. NPH voices Peter Parker, Lisa Loeb is MJ, Ian Ziering is Harry Osborn, and the animation is a flat-shaded CGI thing attempting but failing to mimic the look of traditional animation. Some things look ok, but the Spider-Man costume looks completely terrible.

I did not make it past the first episodes of either. I hear Spectacular Spider-Man is good, but it’s not available for streaming.

Leave a comment