Pointless Nonsense

Posted in video games by Bill on December 30, 2013

me3Mass Effect 3 has the best combat system of the series so far, though I think not quite as engaging a story as the second one. But still an overall excellent game. They fixed a few annoyances (pop-up instructions now tell you to press the key you configured, and not just the default key whether or not you changed it in ME2).

My only major complaint is that having now finished the Mass Effect series to date, I now have no idea what to do with my time. Dragon Age is starting to seem like more and more of a good idea. There’s not much new TV over the holidays, and there have been two straight light comic weeks, so I am struggling to fill my time.

Spoilers to follow:

The ending was fairly disappointing, though. Not like “I am outraged and I hate this game!”, just underwhelming. They spend like 20 minutes telegraphing the fact that you’re not going to survive by having you say tearful goodbyes to everyone. Then you go to the final boss battle, except there’s not really a boss battle. Just a few sequences of very slow walking, then a couple of sets of dialogue, one of which explains in detail your final decision and what the impact of each choice will be, a little bit more slow walking, you make your choice, and finally some cutscenes where exactly what you were told would happen, happens. And I’m not sure any of my decisions in the game or any previous games had any impact on the ending.

Leave a Reply

