Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on December 21, 2013

Some movies I’m feeling too lazy to write much about. Also I tried out and bailed on several movies that I was fairly sure I wouldn’t like over the past few days:

  • American Hustle is pretty good. Amy Adams is constantly wearing low cut, cleavage-y dresses and stuff, which is nice, Jennifer Lawrence looks good too, and Louis CK is randomly in it too and his parts are excellent. The plot is a little bit underwhelming but I overall enjoyed it.
  • The Hobbitt: The Desolation of Smaug is the second in a three-part, nine hour adaptation of a relatively short children’s book. All my thoughts about it can basically be boiled down to: better than the first, Evangeline Lilly is hot, and still way too long.
  • Philomena is that movie with Judi Dench and Steve Coogan, enough for me to decide I could see it over thanksgiving with my mother. It turned out to be a good choice, I didn’t completely hate it and my mother enjoyed it.
  • Iron Sky was that Nazis on the moon movie from a few years back. I only made it about 30 minutes in, where they injected a black astronaut with some sort of drug that turned him white. For I don’t know what reason. It was really dumb.
  • Dylan Dog: Dead of Night stars Brandon Routh as an occult detective type guy. And I found it pretty boring and didn’t get very far in.
  • Battleship kept me around longer than I would have expected. Every time I couldn’t take the stupid anymore, they threw in a random bit of Brooklyn Decker looking hot to draw me back in. But that didn’t last forever, and Liam Neeson’s American accent is really terrible. Also, we send a signal at a planet in the goldilocks zone, and it only takes a few years for aliens to show up on earth? Maybe there’s some technobabble later to try to explain that but… lame.
Leave a Reply

