Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on July 13, 2013

beware-batmanBeware the Batman is the latest Batman cartoon, this time showing up in DC Nation’s Saturday morning block. This version is obviously darker than Brave and the Bold (pretty much any Batman adaptation will be), closer to the modern/stylized look of The Batman, but seems like it will be much less action-oriented. It’s CG animated, which has its pros (mostly stylized action and impressive backgrounds) and cons (major lip sync issues). As with basically any Batman adaptation at this point, I’m going to like some things and not like others, so with some minor spoilers:

  • I like the focus on detective work.
  • I like skipping the origin story.
  • I like using lesser-known villains. Professor Pyg is in the pilot, and Magpie and Anarky will be appearing. They haven’t shown any A- or B-list villains in any of the promotional stuff.
  • I don’t like the badass ex-MI6 Alfred. I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be the Alfred from Earth One (which would be a bad sign, it wasn’t very good) or what.  It’s possible he may grow on me, but right now he sounds vaguely Statham-ish to me, so I keep expecting him to use the c-word. Even though this is on at 10am on the cartoon network.
  • Katana looks potentially awesome. I don’t know if they’re going to go full-on Outsiders, but I like that idea.
  • They used Michael Holt as a random billionaire guy. That either means they plan to use Mr. Terrific at some point, or they are terrible people.
  • Jim Gordon, who I think is voiced by Red Foreman, is a Lieutenant here, so I hope that means he’ll get a lot of attention in a story at some point that will lead to him becoming commissioner.
  • Speaking of voices, the Batman voice is… ok. Certainly no Kevin Conroy, but I can live with it.
Leave a Reply

