Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on May 19, 2013

upstream-colorUpstream Color is the second movie by Shane Carruth, the director of Primer. Like Primer, I spent half the movie wondering what the fuck was happening. Unlike Primer, I ended the movie with very little sense of what actually happened and no desire to watch it again to clear things up. There’s a FAQ on Slate that explains some stuff, some of which I did get. But after reading that, it doesn’t seem like something I would have liked even if I had understood everything the first time through. It had some nice ambient music, the cinematography was nice, and Amy Seimetz was quite good in it. But I do not recommend this movie. At all.

Leave a Reply

