Pointless Nonsense

Posted in browser game by Bill on January 23, 2013

av-alMarvel: Avengers Alliance is a “social” freemium Marvel game. The basic idea is that you’re a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent who’s job it is to assemble and train a team of superheroes to tackle some mystery threat. You earn various kinds of chips used to recruit heroes, train them, research technologies, and buy equipment, and fight in Final Fantasy-style turn-based combat. And as with most of these kinds of games, there’s a time limitation that can be circumvented by paying money. I think most people play it via facebook, but fortunately you don’t have to. And based on the insane amount of email it sent me at first, I imagine it would be awful as far as constant facebook notifications go.

They mostly walk you through the game, but a few things weren’t obvious to me. Most importantly, that when you’re on your helicarrier, there’s a section at the bottom of the screen to “visit” your allies, at which you gain a bunch of silver and S.H.I.E.L.D. points. I dunno how often it refreshes, but this makes it really helpful to gain allies (which you basically do by watching the chat section on the left, clicking to “add friend” when one comes along, then checking your messages periodically to accept invitations). I was stuck on next to no S.H.I.E.L.D. points for a while until I discovered that.

These kinds of games are mostly just time sinks, but there is a sort of story to follow, and the superhero theme obviously appeals to me, so I’ll probably continue to kill time on it for a while.

Leave a Reply

