Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on August 26, 2012

21 Jump Street is a surprisingly good movie. I avoided it in the theater because of C-Tates, the fact that I find thin Jonah Hill to be creepy, and… it’s a remake of 21 Jump Street which is a really dumb idea. But it turned out C-Tates was not that annoying, and it was pretty damn funny. It helped that Channing Tatum was playing exactly the kind of character his acting skills can handle: a handsome idiot. Not unlike Vin Diesel, he’s not someone I necessarily hate, he’s just someone who I can’t help but get an impression about their character from their appearance/voice/mannerisms. If either tries to play a rocket scientist, my suspension of disbelief ends immediately. But C-Tates as a dumb jock, or Vin Diesel as a thug? Perfectly fine.

There was one part that I found to be unintentionally hilarious: Brie Larson‘s character has a random bit of dialogue “well, I’m 18 years old, and my mom still packs my lunch for me,” which amuses me because she was obviously a love interest character, and having an adult cop lusting after a 17 year old would creep audiences out. So they have to have a line of dialogue that served no purpose other than “Dear audience, I am ok to bang.”

But anyway, good movie. Who would have guessed?

Leave a Reply

