Pointless Nonsense

Posted in browser game by Bill on August 12, 2012

Candy Conveyor is a somewhat short but still fun puzzle flash game. The first couple levels where they teach you the basic mechanics are fairly boring, but when they up the complexity it becomes a nice mix of challenging and doable. There’s also some replay value, with a challenge to finish the game with the lowest total cost. I got down to $6300 on my 2nd try, but apparently the high score is $5150, which seems impossible.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gtkrug said, on August 14, 2012 at 11:35 am

    I had $64?? something on my first run through, and I am pretty sure I over used the arms, but without some sort of “perfect” indicator for each board, it would seem really hard to figure out how to shave off over 1000 points.

    • Bill said, on August 14, 2012 at 11:53 am

      I’ve managed to get to 6020, but I can’t go any lower than that. That there’s still that much lower to go makes me think there’s a mechanic I’m missing. Either that, or a weirdly simple solution to one of the levels I spent a lot on.

  2. gtkrug said, on August 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    One thing I never tried was having two rows of candy collide head-on… And I have wondered if there is a trick to the last board. My solution was ridiculously expensive and nearly filled the entire screen, I’m sure I could reduce it’s cost quite a bit, but if there is not another technique to it, it would still cost quite a lot.

    • Bill said, on August 14, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Colliding head-on makes them break, as does having an arm place one on top of existing candy.

  3. gtkrug said, on August 14, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I looked at a video on youtube (well part of it; i haven’t finished it). On board 8 they used a technique I had not considered, basically they build up the puzzle into a pseudo solution that can then be partially destroyed for a lower score. The final solution would not work if you just built it directly though as the intermediary solution was necessary to get a specific candy pattern going.

    • Bill said, on August 14, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      Ok I think I watched the same thing. 8 seems to be kinda cheating, but some of the others are very clever. The last one did use something I didn’t know you could do (passing from one arm to another over a space occupied by candy without destroying it). But the one where you have to delay one row of cookies so it doesn’t intersect with the other? I would never have come up with that in a million years.


Leave a Reply

