Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on July 28, 2012

The Dark Knight Rises is, disappointingly, just a very good superhero movie. The bar was set so high by The Dark Knight and Heath Ledger’s Joker that just making a very good movie that wraps up the series well turns out to be kind of a let down. It mixed parts of No Man’s Land, The Dark Knight Returns, and Knightfall (two good comics and one that had a good beginning) into a story that nicely incorporated elements from the first two movies, but I couldn’t stop imagining how much better it would have been if Heath Ledger was still alive.

I can’t say I had any real problems with it. Christian Bale is still solid, though I keep hearing the college humor Batman guy whenever he does the voice. Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Morgan Freeman are very good as usual. With Katie Holmes and Maggie Gyllenhaal out of the way, we get Anne Hathaway who can act and is easy on the eyes, which is quite nice.

I found Bane to be ok. I often have difficulty with characters who cover up their mouths. Because we couldn’t see his lips move, he always seemed like his voice was dubbed over. I get they wanted a thematic thing, Batman’s mouth is uncovered because he speaks the truth, Bane’s is covered because he lies, but it takes me out of the experience of the movie. I imagine Tom Hardy doing ADR in a sound studio rather than Bane delivering a terrifying message to Gotham. He also sounded weird, like Red Mantle from The Venture Bros. Which is not very menacing at all. But I did like that he wasn’t just physically imposing, that he was charismatic and intelligent.

(I could have sworn I posted this last week, but I left it as a draft the whole time)

Leave a Reply

