Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on June 27, 2012

The Debt concerns Mossad group sent to East Berlin to capture a former concentration camp medical experimenter and bring him back to Israel to stand trial. Two British That Guys and Helen Mirren play them 30 years later, and Marton Csokas, Sam Worthington, and Jessica Chastain play them during the mission. About an hour in, I was ready to write this off as a decent but unexceptional spy thriller kinda thing, but then things got really interesting. Less action-y and much more dramatic, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Jessica Chastain, who now appears to be in everything, looked totally unfamiliar when I first saw the trailers to this, but it turns out she was someone I don’t remember on L&O: Trial By Jury and more memorably Veronica Mars’ pregnant neighbor. It’s weird that I thought I didn’t recognize her, but as soon as I saw the Veronica Mars credit, I instantly knew who she was without even remembering the character’s name.

Leave a Reply

