Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on June 22, 2012

Attack the Block is an apparently highly regarded action comedy about an alien invasion thwarted by some thuggish kids in a London housing project type area, but I didn’t particularly enjoy it. Some of the comedy was, I think, supposed to come from class differences and the resulting culture clash, but I don’t think I’m nearly fluent enough in Londoner slang to follow any of that. I have heard “innit” before, but they use it about a billion times, and they use the word “trust” by itself to mean “take my word for this,” or “I won’t let you down,” which is totally new to me. But I think I was spending so much effort on following the slang that I couldn’t see what was enjoyable about this.

Leave a Reply

