Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on June 19, 2012

Young Adult is directed by Jason Reitman, who’s previously done Thank You For Smoking, Juno, and Up in the Air, so I feel like he’s pretty good. Patton Oswalt’s in it, and I have a nonsexual man-crush on him. So it has a lot going for it. But actually I watched this today because Prometheus reminded me of what I first thought during either Aeon Flux or Hancock: has Charlize Theron ever been in a good movie? She’s perfectly good as an actress, but she seems to have a tendency to be in shitty movies. I counted 13 before Young Adult. Now, I have a soft spot for The Devil’s Advocate because I enjoy watching Al Pacino chew scenery, but I wouldn’t call it good. She won an Oscar for Monster but I haven’t ever seen it (and it doesn’t look particularly appealing to me either). And she was awesome on her arc of Arrested Development, but of course that’s not a movie.

Here, she plays the author of a series of books for teens (so that the title can have a double meaning!) who kind of loses her shit when she gets an email announcing the birth of her high school boyfriend’s kid. It’s a slow-motion train wreck that is actually kinda fascinating to watch. Though it has a few funny parts, it’s definitely not a comedy. It’s like a character piece about… maybe she’s an alcoholic, maybe she’s mentally ill, I’m not really sure. It’s probably troubling that I identified with more than a few parts (most notably the whole “pretending to text while alone in public so as to not look like a loser” thing). But anyway, I enjoyed this, so score one for Charlize Theron. But just the one, which is still weird.

Leave a Reply

