Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on May 20, 2012

Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol was a pretty decent movie, but hopefully Tom Cruise’s last of these, at least as the main guy. He’s like 50 now, and while he’s a young-looking 50 in very good shape, he no longer passes at all for a guy capable of doing the action hero stuff anymore. Plus I have a harder time separating Tom Cruise: Action Star from Tom Cruise: Nutjob Scientologist, especially when he makes his serious, determined face. It seems like they have a nice setup to move Cruise into an M kind of role and let other people do the spy badassery, which would resolve the age issue, but might make the Scientology issue even worse.

I was amazed at how much I forgot from the previous movies. I spent the first 10 minutes trying to remember if the last one had Thandie Newton (I later realized that was MI2, the third one’s lead actress was Michelle Monaghan). But it barely mattered, which I assume has been intentional for this series that averages 5 years between installments.

Paula Patton is someone I’ve never seen in anything before, save for a single episode of L&O:SVU that I don’t remember, and she’s like the Seinfeld woman who alternates between really hot and not-so-hot depending on the light. She also has scary muscular shoulders, which work for her character as a badass more than they work for her character as a woman who I want to have sex with.

But like I said, I liked the movie, because I like action spy stuff. They had some really good action sequences, one really clever gadget that I don’t think I’ve ever seen in a spy movie before, mostly good effects (the front end of a dust storm approaching Dubai did not look good, though), and Simon Pegg helped sell the mix of technobabble and jokes that provided most of the exposition.

Leave a Reply

