Pointless Nonsense

Posted in comics by Bill on May 10, 2012

Some new comics, roughly best-to-worst:

Insufferable is technically a webcomic, but it’s written by Mark Waid (Irredeemable/Incorruptable/the current run on Daredevil, etc), has professional superhero-style art, and releases a ~10 page issue every week. It’s more of Waid’s “superheroes who are kinda dicks” thing, but not in a Boys kinda way. But he does nifty stuff with the digital format. You can use the right and left arrow keys to navigate pages, and they do things that are impractical in print but make perfect sense in digital, like using 4 pages to slowly reveal a 4 panel layout. It’s only 2 issues in, but I’m enjoying it so far. (the site itself is a work in progress, the RSS feed works, but as of yet, blogposts don’t actually link to the comics… but I see on Waid’s twitter that someone’s already suggested that fix)
Fury Max is Garth Ennis’ second take no Nick Fury, after the one from a while back that supposedly single-handedly killed a planned Nick Fury movie starring George Clooney. The first issue is all exposition, set in, I guess French Indochina, but Fury’s serving as an American liason of sorts to the French still trying to hold Vietnam. And it’s what you’d expect from Garth Ennis. Fury’s a tough guy, the politicians are smiling bastards who are going to get people killed, that sorta thing. And I like that sorta thing.
World’s Finest is the New 52 introduction of Huntress and Power Girl. Power Girl finally gets a decent costume that will make her something other a pair of boobs (or a source for boob jokes, even though some are pretty good). Huntress gets something similar to the Jim Lee (I think) designed slutty costume from around the time of Hush, but without the slutty parts. Yet despite the improvement on the pointless revealing of skin, both costumes look kinda goofy. Anyway, it’s a rather bland intro that ties into the beginning of the New 52 Earth 2 (see below), but I have always wanted to see more done with the Huntress character (I just think a sorta hot girl version of Batman who’s a little bit more of an anti-hero is a solid concept), so I’m going to stick around for a bit.
Epic Kill sounded like it had the potential to be a great piece of trash. It’s about a hot girl who kills shit, and promises at least one “epic kill” per issue. But it kinda reminds me of Sucker Punch. So Geebs might still like it, but I thought it was stupid. And how come badass killer girls always have to be horribly damaged people who can barely relate to others? Badass killer guys can be like “fuck yeah, killing people is awesome!” But badass killer girls have to be like “I barely ever speak and I can’t form human relationships.”
Mind the Gap is about a girl who looks to be in her early 20s, but written by a guy who’s probably my age or older. Which explains why she makes references to Lionel Richie, Pink Floyd, and Blind Melon. This bugged me. I guess, if she made references to the music of her generation and I just didn’t get them, that’d be ok. But it seems more like writer wish fulfillment by imagining a girl that is young and hot but also into the same stuff he is. I dunno. The story’s about the girl going into a coma and having an out of body experience where she can hang out with the spirits of other people in comas or something. It’s not bad, but clearly not a book for me.
Earth 2‘s cover features Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman. Much of my dislike for this book probably stems from me not reading much of the pre-release publicity for comics. But, Spoiler alert: those characters on the cover all die, and this book will be about the JSA with old school heroes like the Flash with the helmet and Alan Scott as the Green Lantern. So if I’d known that, I may have only read it to flip through for the bits about Power Girl and Huntress’ new origins. Instead, I went in thinking it might be something I’d want to read, and it wasn’t. (also, why would Wonder Woman call the messenger of the gods “Mercury” when she’s Greek?)
I went into Dial H totally blind, except that people seemed to be excited about it. It’s about Boy Chimney (a hero who takes over the body of whoever dials “H-E-R-O” on a magic phone booth and shoots clouds of black smoke at people) and Captain Lachrymose (who seems to just make people cry). It was weird and I didn’t like it.
Leave a Reply

