Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on April 16, 2012

Girls is a new comedy on HBO which, after checking out the pilot, I’m positive I won’t be watching. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m a man or because I’m old now, but I hate every single character on the show (except the protagonist’s mom). And not in the fun kind of way, where you love to hate them, or they’re terrible people but entertaining anyway. They’re like people I hate every day. The main character, Hannah, is in a crisis because 2 years out of college, her parents have decided to stop paying her living expenses. Hannah’s best friend has a boyfriend who she stays with even though she hates him. Hannah’s other good friend is a francophile who is like one of those people who never shuts up about how much better some place in Europe is than wherever they are now. Hannah’s sort of boyfriend is a piece of shit. I think you’re partly supposed to think they’re idiots, but also supposed to identify in some way with them. But I didn’t, I just hated them all.

Leave a Reply

