Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on April 15, 2012

Derek is Ricky Gervais’ new show, where he plays a mentally challenged guy who works at an old folks home. Apparently there’s some controversy about it, which is odd, because it’s unquestionably sweet. Which is a little off-putting to me, actually, because I’m a heartless bastard. The Office and Extras were borderline mean-spirited until ending on positive notes, while Derek is saccharine from the start. It has some funny parts, but it’s considerably more dramatic than his previous series. I suppose I’ll give it another episode to see if it grows on me, but I’m not optimistic.

Leave a Reply

