Pointless Nonsense

Posted in comics by Bill on February 1, 2012

I’m a little behind on these new comics, with Defenders #3 having just come out, but whatever:

The Defenders is Matt Fraction/Terry Dodson’s relaunch of the other Marvel team. This time, it’s Dr. Strange, Iron Fist, Red She Hulk, Namor, and the Silver Surfer. So basically Iron Fist and some people I know nothing about. But so far it’s been pretty good. Fraction’s writing is very hit-or-miss for me, but he was at his best on Immortal Iron Fist, and his writing of Danny Rand is the strong point of the book so far. Plus, I don’t completely hate Red She Hulk, which is surprising. The take on her is basically “I have superpowers? This is awesome!” which is obviously easy to relate to. An odd thing the book does is have these little messages at the bottom of some pages. Sometimes they’re just plugs for other Marvel comics, sometimes they’re commentary on the book itself (“hey that tiger is flying a spaceship”), sometimes cryptic messages indicating something for the future of the book or that something subtly important is on the page. It’s a cool device so far, but one that might turn out to get really annoying.
Sacrifice is the newest self-published thing by Sam Humphries, who wrote the distubring/clever Our Love is Real (the one where people who have sex with dogs were disgusted by those filthy perverts who have sex with plants). Sacrifice is a different kind of weird, with trippy artwork and a guy hallucinating or time travelling or something to the Aztec Empire. I don’t think I’ll be following it, because I’m just not much of a trippy artwork kinda guy. Or hallucination stories.
Wolverine and the X-Men: Alpha and Omega is a terribly titled miniseries that goes along with Jason Aaron’s so far excellent Wolverine and the X-Men. I’m hesitant to pick up anything X-Men related because of the stupidly complicated backstories, but with Brian Wood writing and the tie-in to one of the few X-titles I read, I thought it might be both good and accessible. The story focuses on Quentin “Kid Omega” Quire, a teenage psychic villain that Wolverine is trying to reform at his school, trapping Wolverine in a mental prison. Which sounda kinda eh, but the mental prison is this awesome Blade Runner-ish alternate universe, and just really cool looking stuff like this. So I’m totally on board.
Whispers is about a germophobe who discovers he can travel around outside his body while he sleeps. Not normally my kind of comic. But it has a quality opening joke and is written/drawn by one half of the Luna Brothers, whose previous work I’ve enjoyed (Ultra, Girls, The Sword, and a Spider-Woman mini). Oddly, it’s Joshua Luna, who doesn’t normally draw, who does this solo. His art’s a little bit… not great. But it’s ok. And I’m willing to be patient with the story to really grab me.
Fatale is another Brubaker/Phillips thing (after Sleeper, Criminal, Incognito, and probably some other stuff I’m forgetting), which pretty much guarantees I’ll be reading it. It’s kind of a horror/noir thing, which is quite cool. I mean, just look at that cover: hot girl with a gun, spooky demon thing in the background. Hard to go wrong there.
Leave a Reply

