Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on December 27, 2011

Gosford Park was on my netflix queue since the beginning, but I never got around to it because I’m rarely in the mood for snooty, critically acclaimed, but potentially really boring movies. But since I was looking for something to watch with my mother, it seemed like the perfect time to give it a shot. And accidentally reading the plot summary which declared it a comedy and a murder mystery, I was thinking it might be pretty good. But there wasn’t a whole lot of comedy, and the movie was much more interested in contrasting the high society folks with their servants than having any sort of plot. The murder part of the murder mystery part happened about 90 minutes into the movie, so… yeah. Not my kind of movie at all.

I will say that I was impressed with the way they layered the dialog. The camera would slowly wander around a large, crowded room, and snippets of various conversations would be brought to and from the foreground, but in a somewhat subtle way. Also, the cast was kind of ridiculous. Helen Mirren, Maggie Smith, Clive Owen, Ryan Philippe, Michael Gambon, Kristin Scott Thomas, Kelly MacDonald, Stephen Fry, Emily Watson, and that guy who plays Warren Littlefield (or stand-ins for Warren Littlefield).

Leave a Reply

