Pointless Nonsense

Posted in Soda by Bill on December 1, 2011

Two today, mostly because the fridge is short on space:

Barrel Brothers Root Beer has a strong root beer flavor mixed with vanilla, which sounds great, but it’s not very sweet at all, and I like my root beers towards the sweet side. It’s odd that it’s not very sweet, because at 170 calories for 12 oz, you’d expect it to be. Also odd, the ingredients on the label list HFCS, but the bottle is stamped “PURE CANE SUGAR.”

Cool Mountain Razzberry is not one I would’ve chosen, but I ordered a random sampling of stuff, and I happened to grab this first. This tastes like blue raspberry candy at first, but the acidity of it starts to get annoying. Like I felt like it was burning my throat a little.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph jeong said, on December 1, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Does the root beer have cane sugar in its list of ingredients? If not, I’m pretty sure that’s illegal. If it does, but also has HFCS, then that’s just marketing!

    • Bill said, on December 1, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      Nope, the only sweetener in the ingredients is HFCS.


Leave a Reply

