Pointless Nonsense

Posted in browser game by Bill on November 29, 2011

Glitch is a browser-based MMORPG type game that people seem to think is quite cool. After reading a little about it maybe a month ago, I signed up for a beta invite, got one, and promptly did nothing. Slightly bored with a long night’s work on Sunday, I finally signed up. I suspect it’s the constant stream of rewards and new challenges, but the game is oddly compelling. I’ve got a growing list of quests, and any time I have nothing to do, I find myself thinking I should hop on and do a little something.

A few things I thought were interesting:

  • You don’t kill stuff, so Geebs is immediately not interested.
  • Death is not catastrophic, but it is slightly tedious. You go to “Hell” and have to do a repetitive task to return to the regular world.
  • Energy is effectively your health (you also have mood, but the only time I’ve run low on that is when I’ve forgotten I was signed in), and it replenishes once per game day (every 4 hours). You can also restore it by eating or meditating (or leveling up), but they set caps on things that, at least at the level I’m at, limit the advantages of power gaming. There’s only so much you can do in 4 hours before you kinda have to wait for the next day. As I progress, there’s more I can do before I need the daily energy refresh, but I don’t think I could fill the entire 4 hours yet. At least not unless I was willing to basically acquire no money/stuff/favor with gods and eat everything I harvest (I’m at this point a tree picker, though I’m not sure the value of that int he long run).
  • You can progress in the skill tree without even starting the game. If you tell it to learn a skill, it counts down the time even when you’re not signed in, and you get an email when you’ve learned it, so you can just go to the website and, without entering the game world, pick the next thing you want off the skill tree.
  • The one thing I really don’t like, because I’m me, is the quests that encourage you to socialize. I obviously haven’t attempted to talk to anyone so far, and only one guy’s tried to talk to me. And he was begging for free stuff. So screw other people.

It says I have invites to give out, but I don’t think you necessarily need one to sign up. But whatever, if anyone reads this and wants to try it and can’t get in, let me know.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Krug said, on November 30, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    /facepalm

    • Bill said, on November 30, 2011 at 7:11 pm

      I made it about a half a day after posting this before instantly losing interest. Once the quests became hour long undertakings, it no longer seemed like a simple time waster

      • joseph jeong said, on November 30, 2011 at 7:41 pm

        I barely made it past the tutorial. I don’t mind the social part (I’m just paranoid about anonymity), but found nothing compelling about the game. I really wanted to like this game, because I respected its freemium model (pay for features that enhance your experience, but don’t give you an advantage in the game), but found the game completely uninteresting, unfortunately.

        I played Dragon Nest, which was one of those freemium games, and enjoyed the arcade action. If I ever have time, I’ll pick up that mindless hack/slash game again.


Leave a Reply

