Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on August 29, 2011

Throne of Blood has been in my Netflix queue since its inception, roughly 6 years ago. I kept bumping it down because my attention span has shrunk so much that I don’t think I can handle slow-moving movies with subtitles outside of a distraction-free theater anymore. And I really can’t. I followed the plot only because it’s based on Macbeth, which I mostly remember from high school. Most of the time, it was way to slow to keep my interest. Except the end, which was quite awesome.

Toshiro Mifune, who plays the lead character and is in pretty much all of Akira Kurosawa’s great movies, is a fantastic actor, and he really does a great job in the climactic scene. But that’s about all I can say for the movie, which I probably would’ve enjoyed a lot more ~13 years ago when I was briefly really into Kurosawa.

Leave a Reply

