Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on August 26, 2011

Barney’s Version is an adaptation of Canadian-Jewish author Mordecai Richler’s book in which Paul Giamatti plays Barney, a Canadian Jew. So one would suspect it may be somewhat autobiographical. If so, Mordechai Richler was a piece of shit who was married to a pretty awesome lady.

Barney marries two women with sort of an “I guess I should get married” kind of attitude before finally meeting a woman (Rosamund Pike, who somewhat paradoxically is not as old as I thought she was, but also is still really hot) who he falls in love with at first sight. He’s still generally kind of a dick.

It was an ok movie, I guess. Paul Giamatti is always good, Dustin Hoffman was quite good as his father. The redhead who I will always think of as the girl from Life on a Stick (and more specifically her making lemonade sexily on that show) was good in her brief appearance. And Minnie Driver was supposed to be unlikable, which is great because she just seems so incredibly unlikable in everything she does. But I guess in the end I have no idea what the point of the movie was. I think it was made for older people who can appreciate reflective looks back on their lives or whatever. But I’m not that old yet, and I don’t like to reflect back on my life because it’d just depress me.

Leave a Reply

