Pointless Nonsense

Posted in movies by Bill on May 3, 2011

I caught Source Code over the weekend. It was much more conventional than Duncan Jones previous movie Moon, but not exactly a typical thriller either. I enjoyed it just fine; Michelle Monaghan is really cute, I tend to enjoy time travel, and I do like those old “the killer must be on this train” movies. But I guess my hopes were too high, it just wasn’t as good as I was expecting it to be. Spoilers to follow:

I had seen a link to this spoiler-filled article about people discussing the ending, and I have to say I’m with the author of the article. I didn’t see any other interpretation, though looking at what other people think, I guess there were enough seeds in the movie to read it that way.

I do wonder about the idea that this has happened before. They said they’d been waiting two months for the right scenario to use the source code, maybe they had used it every day, created an alternate universe where the problem never happened, and there are 59 other Jake Gyllenhaals running around as other people.

Leave a Reply

