Pointless Nonsense

Posted in tv by Bill on April 19, 2011

I realized while watching Game of Thrones that I can’t do low-budget fantasy. I’m a science fiction fan, and I can deal with low production values because the ideas can be enough to entertain me. But for fantasy, I need grand scenery and quality music and all the other hallmarks of a sizable budget to match the epic storytelling that fantasy tends to aim for. This is why I could not watch Legend of the Seeker, and why I will be watching Game of Thrones.

The establishment shots of endless walls and towering castles are enough to tell you that they are willing to spend some cash to draw you in. The cast is quite good: Lena Headey, Sean Bean, Mark Addy, and most importantly Peter Dinklage, who is always awesome. And the episode ends on a great note that has me really excited for the second episode. The copious nudity ain’t bad either.

Interesting side note: I’d had a fairly important plot point spoiled for me months ago, but somehow forgot it until after I’d already figured it out. I wonder if I subconsciously remembered it, if it was obvious to everyone, or if I just hang around with certain people too much to let things like that get past me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Krug said, on April 19, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Twincest? Hehe…

    • Bill said, on April 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Now anyone who reads these comments will have it spoiled. You’re a terrible person.


Leave a Reply

