Pointless Nonsense

Posted in comics by Bill on April 16, 2011

Ruse was one of the first comics recommended to me, and I never got into it. I actually dug up the email in which it was recommended, and my comments in it are pretty hilarious as I was extremely new to comics. I declared myself unimpressed with Warren Ellis (now clearly my favorite writer), uninterested in Invincible (which I have a pile of hardcovers of now), and a huge Frank Miller fanboy. Of course, I was taking recommendations from someone who expressed an affinity for the comics of Jeph Loeb and Kevin Smith, so both parties in those email exchanges had what I now consider to be pretty poor taste.

There’s a point here, eventually. Ruse was published by a company called Crossgen which did some critically acclaimed stuff and then went out of business after not too long. Marvel bought the rights to their body of work and have now relaunched Ruse for a miniseries, and I picked up the first issue on a whim. I really enjoyed it, which sent me back to the original Crossgen series, which I’m now enjoying quite a bit. I don’t know what was wrong with me the first time, but whatever. The action follows a dickish Sherlock Holmes and his hot blonde assistant solving crimes in a Victorian London where magic is quite real.

My progress on everything comics-wise is going to be slow for a while, since I’m watching the hell out of a mediocre TV show, but eventually I’ll get on night shift and catch up on all this stuff.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joseph said, on April 16, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    VINDICATED! I still maintain Kevin Smith is a good writer, but terrible at keeping a schedule. Jeph Loeb, I don’t have much of a defense, although I vaguely remember saying that he’s good at starting a story, and terrible at finishing it.

    • Bill said, on April 16, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Did you try out his Batman wetting himself story? He is a funny guy, but his superhero comics come off as fanfic written while stoned. You weren’t exactly glowing about Loeb, but you said “Loeb even at his worse, he still is quite readable.” Hopefully I have read his worst, and it is not at all readable.

  2. joseph said, on April 16, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    I haven’t read any new comics recently. I will look for his Batman stuff.

    With Loeb, his Hush story arc did it for me. I really like how he set up the story, but I HATED the way he finished it. After Hush, I’ve tend to stay away from his stuff (except when Tim Sale is drawing it).

    You will LOVE Kiss Kiss Bang Bang from Crossgen too, methinks.


Leave a Reply

