Pointless Nonsense

Posted in comics by Bill on February 15, 2010

Taking a break from my seemingly unending quest to catch up on 8-bit Theater (I’m up to number 529 out of 1200+), I decided to check out several other webcomics I’ve bookmarked in the past couple years because someone said they were good or they seemed interesting.

  • The Black Cherry Bombshells
    Format: crappy flash app, color
    Plot: Some kind of post-apocalyptic thing
    How far I got before giving up: 3 pages, due to a combination of boredom and confusion
  • Rival Angels
    Format: images on html, color
    Plot: A soap opera set in an all-women’s pro wrestling league
    How far I got before giving up: ~15 pages, of which 1.5 were dedicated to new roommates deciding which bed to take. The concept is actually not bad, but unless the writing and/or art improved a ton I can’t imagine enjoying it.
  • Robot Lincoln and Zombie Jackson
    Format: crappy flash app, b&w
    Plot: It’s pretty much there in the title.
    How far I got before giving up: There’s only one issue, which I read all the way through. They have a cover for issue 2, but no RSS feed, so I will likely never see the second one if they ever make it.
  • Registered Weapon
    Format: images on html, b&w
    Plot: A hard-boiled cop and his cash register robot partner (I did not get that the title is a pun until just now)
    How far I got before giving up: A decent ways in, and I’m going to catch all the way up, I think.
  • The Meek
    Format: images on html, color
    Plot: I have no idea
    How far I got before giving up: page 3 is kinda nsfw, so I kept the bookmark and may check it out later.
  • The Accountants
    Format: crappy flash app, color
    Plot: In a word where everyone wears fuzzy animal outfits, these guys are mob accountants/assassins… or something.
    How far I got before giving up: it’s only 8 pages long, as it apparently lost the zuda competition, but I’d have read more.
  • Jesus and Mo
    Format: images on html, b&w
    Plot: Jesus and Mohammad hang out, and are possibly gay?
    How far I got before giving up: 6 or 7, it’s ok, but not worth the effort.
  • Kitty Hawk
    Format: images on html, monochrome (if that’s the right word?)
    Plot: Pulpy WWII-era pilot chick
    How far I got before giving up: Finished the first chapter, will read more in the future. I like the art, and I feel like the story might go somewhere. Nothing particularly interesting happened in chapter 1, but I think it’s setup for something possibly good.
  • Shadowgirls
    Format: images on html, color
    Plot: Trailer trash Gilmore Girls, plus demons (I’ve virtually guaranteed that if geebs sees this, he will check this out)
    How far I got before giving up: Finished the first chapter, and I may pick this up again. Not normally my thing, but the writing isn’t half bad, and they’ve put a lot of effort into the art, even though it’s a little to manga-ish for my tastes.

Somehow, I managed to do some work today too.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Craig said, on February 27, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Thanks for the write up; I’ll be your own personal, RSS feed once the new issue/pages are up. Thanks again for reading.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers